2015 Siouxland Film Festival Finalists

The Siouxland Institute of Film is pleased to announce the films that were selected for the 2015 Siouxland Film Festival, February 26, 27 and 28.  33 films will be shown over three days.

Over 80 films from 8 countries and the United States were entered, 33 of the best were selected. Included in Thursday’s showing at the Art Center is the WORLD PREMIER of the French film, “Un Jour de Lucidite.” The wide range of styles of film includes comedy, drama, romance, animation, science fiction and horror. Films were submitted from our local area as well as from across the United States, Australia, England, Spain, Canada, Taiwan, Sweden, France and Japan.


Thursday, February 26, 7 PM   (International and Art House Films)
Sioux City Art Center
225 Nebraska Street
Sioux City, IA

Friday, February 27, 7 PM   (Horror, Sci-Fi and Fantasy Films)
Sioux City Public Museum
607 4th Street
Sioux City, IA

Saturday, February 28, 2 PM and 7 PM   (Open Category and Winning Films)
Orpheum Theater
528 Pierce Street
Sioux City, IA

Tickets are available at the door, one hour prior to the start of the showings. Tickets are just $6 per person ($3 per student), credit cards NOT accepted. Cash bar available at each venue.

Please note that some films are not suitable for children; most would probably be rated PG-13, some are more intense.


Here are the films selected for each night:

Thursday, February 26: Sioux City Art Center

International and Art House Films

Film Director From Time
Batman and Jimbo Angus Mullane Australia 7 min
Un Jour de Lucidite Emilie and Sarah Barbault France 28 min
Michelle Amy Rankin Illinois 5 min
Of Poetry and Pigeons Colleen Kenney Fleischer Local 4 min
September Sketch Book Ronnie Cramer Colorado 8 min
The Mane Man Seamus Ryan Australia 25 min
Swedish Table Tennis Patrick Delhougne Missouri 4 min
Replacement Luiz Felipe Sandre Sweden 7 min
I’ve Just Had a Dream Javier Navarro Spain 8 min

Friday, February 27: Sioux City Museum

Horror, Science Fiction and Fantasy

Some films are not suitable for children.

Film Director From Time
Chasing the Past Jonathan Salemi California 17 min
Helio Teddy Cecil California 20 min
Mr. Denton Ivan Villamel Sanchez Spain 9 min
Roommates Jonathan Mendoza Virginia 16 min
Shi Pablo Absento Japan 8 min
Teasers Rafael De Leon, Jr. New York 9 min
Telephone Nathan Hoffman Minnesota 9 min
The Captain Catherine Wolf California 27 min
The Washing Machine Lorenzo Pomari California 11 min
What’s Eating Dad Michael Goldburg New York 11 min

Saturday, February 28: Orpheum Theater

Open Category Films PLUS Previous Night Winners

Film Director From Time
Birthday Chris King California 11 min
Driver David Mair Minnesota 9 min
HIgh Five Guy! Ben Catus Local 2 min
Last Day of Summer Mike Biondo Illinois 3 min
Nobody William Bryan Illinois 17 min
Oh Crappy Day Jon Bacon North Carolina 18 min
Over Shadowed Jesse Spitzer Local 24 sec
Re+Belief Raymond McCarthy Bergeron Maryland 7 min
Save Myself Harlan Hegna Minnesota 4 min
Showtime Marko Albrecht New Jersey 6 min
The Gift of Walnut Grove John Richard Local 18 min
Someone For Everyone Kyle Rogers Local 8 min
That’s So Gay Jason Lees Local 3 min


11th Annual Siouxland Film Festival
February 26, 27,  & 28, 2015

Thursday, February 26 at the Sioux City Art Center
     International and Art House Films

Friday, February 27 at the Sioux City Public Museum
     Horror, Fantasy and Science Fiction

Saturday, February 28 at the Orpheum Theater
     General Films and Genre Winners

All films must be 30 minutes or shorter!

Shows at 7 PM on Thursday and Friday, 2 PM and 7 PM on Saturday at the Orpheum. Tickets available at the door 1-hour before each show. We do NOT accept credit cards, but there is an ATM across the street.

Tickets: $6 cash each; $3 each for students.

Who Will Be Awarded the Prestigious Siouxsie Award?

Awards to filmmakers will be made after the 7 PM Saturday showing.

Orpheum Theatre, 528 Pierce Street, Sioux City, Iowa

Our sponsors make this possible: Dave Bernstein & State Steel, Women Aware, Great Western Bank, Western Iowa Tech Independent Film Department, Orpheum Theater, M&M Copy Quick, WIT Lifelong Learning, and American Airlines. Special thanks to the Iowa Motion Picture Association.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Our 11th annual festival will be over THREE nights, February 26, 27 and 28. Join with our area filmmakers and celebrate our local films, as well as the national and international filmmakers who will enter their films in our festival. We’re improving the festival to make it an even bigger and more enjoyable event for everyone.


You may enter your film three ways:

  1. Enter online via WithoutaBox or
  2. Enter online via Filmfreeway or
  3. Mail a playable DVD to:
    Siouxland Film Festival
    P.O. Box 3086
    Sioux City IA 51102

Entry deadlines:

November 15, 2014 early bird deadline  $20 fee, $15 if you use WOAB
December 13, 2014 Regular deadline $25 fee,   $20
January 3, 2015  Late deadline  $30, $25
January 16, 2015  final/extended deadline  $50, $30

FINAL Deadline for submissions is January 16, 2015. If we don’t have your film by then, it will not be considered.


-There are two categories of films accepted, Local and Shorts.
-Local films will be accepted from Iowa, Northeast Nebraska and
Southeast South Dakota, and the area commonly known as Siouxland.
-Shorts is an open shorts program. Graduate film students are encouraged to submit their work.
-All movies must be no longer than THIRTY minutes.
-Any subject matter (Documentary, Short-fiction, Animation, Experimental, etc.)
-All local movies must have been made within the last two years (2012-2014). Open shorts must have been made in the last year, 2013-2014.
-Local submissions can be made with no entry fee by sending a DVD by postal mail   to: PO Box 3086, Sioux City, IA 51102, or online via Withoutabox.
-All entries must include the filmmaker’s name, postal address, email address and cell phone number.

-All films entered via Withoutabox online must pay an entry fee per film entered.

-Any submissions from outside of the three-state area must be made by uploading the film to Withoutabox.

If your film is a final selection for the festival you must either mail us a DVD, or send it electronically using .mp4, or .mkv file of less than 2GB through the following website:https://wetransfer.com/   Ideally, any videos sent electronically will be encoded as h.264 and have AC3 audio. If they are not, we will try our best to encode them for the festival DVD. Any video that cannot be encoded will not be included.